Itsy Bitsy February!

Here are the songs and rhymes we are playing with this month!

Finger Rhyme: “My Heart”

I put my hands together, (put palms together, fingers up)
This is how I start,
I curve my fingers right around, (curl fingertips of each hand toward each other to form heart shape)
And I can make a HEART!
This is my heart,
It goes beat, beat (clap hands on the word “beat”)
It pumps the blood when I’m asleep (rest head on hands)
It pumps the blood when I jump up and down, (jump!)
It pumps the blood when I run around, (slap hands on knees)
It pumps the blood when I move my feet, (stomp feet)
It pumps the blood when I tip-toe to my seat! (Sh finger)

(Mash-up of two rhymes from  http://www.perpetualpreschool.com/valentine_songs.html and http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/valentines/songs.htm)

Song: “Skidamarink”

Skidamarink-a-dink-a-dink,
Skidamarink-a-doo,
I love you!
Skidamarink-a-dink-a-dink,
Skidamarink-a-doo,
I love you!
I love you in the morning, and in the afternoon,
I love you in the evening, and underneath the moon,
Oh!
Skidamarink-a-dink-a-dink,
Skindamarink-a-doo,
I love you!

(Source:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vPzg7VLUsY)

Let’s BOUNCE!

Bumping up and down in my little blue sled,
Bumping up and down in my little blue sled,
Bumping up and down in my little blue sled,
Bumpity, bumpity, bumpity, bumpity, bump, bump bump!

(Change the colors of the sled on each verse!)

(Source: Jbrary!)

Song: “Bubble, Bubble, POP!”
Tune: “One little, Two Little…”

One little red fish swimming in the water,
Swimming in the water, swimming in the water,
One little red fish swimming in the water,
Bubble, bubble, bubble, bubble, POP!

Two little blue fish… POP! POP!
Three little yellow fish… POP! POP! POP!
Four little green fish… POP! POP! POP! POP!
Five little white fish… POP! POP! POP! POP! POP!

(Source: Adapted from Jbrary and the Champaign Public Library!)

Chant: “The Colors I See”

Red, red, is the color I see,
If you are wearing red,
Please show it to me!
Stand up, take a bow,
Turn around, sit on the ground!

Repeat with other colors!

(Source: http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/colors/songs.htm via Story Time Katie)

Let’s Move: “Go Bananas”

Grow, grow, grow, grown an orange,
(repeat)
And peel, peel, peel, peel the orange,
(repeat)
And squeeze, squeeze, squeeze, squeeze the orange
(repeat)

Grow, grow, grow, grow the corn…
Husk…
Pop, pop, pop pop the corn!

Potato…. peel… mash….
Apple… peel…. slice…

Grow, grow, grow, the banana,
(repeat)
Peel, peel, peel the banana,
(repeat)
Mash, mash, mash the banana,
(repeat)
Split, split, split the banana,
(repeat)
AND GO BANANAS, go-go BANANAS!
(repeat!)

(Camp song – with many variations!  For one take see:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfhzSNW0NmE)

Song: “First the Snowpants!”
Tune: “Clementine”

First the snowpants,
Then the snowboots,
Then the jacket and the hat,
And the mittens go on last,
So we can go outside to play!”

(Source: http://www.perpetualpreschool.com/preschool_themes/ice/ice_songs.htm)

Leave a Reply

