Itsy Bitsy Songs & Rhymes for August 2014

This month our theme will be BABIES & BIG KIDS! We’ll be reading about BABIES and growing up and becoming a big brother sister and going to PRESCHOOL!  Here are the songs and rhymes we will be using with this theme! Enjoy!

Finger Rhyme: “Wink, Wink”

Make one eye go wink, wink, wink,
Make two eyes go blink, blink, blink.
Make two fingers stand just so,
Then ten fingers all in a row!
Back and forth your head will rock
And your knees can knock, knock, knock.
Now stretch and make a yawn so wide,
and drop your hands down to your sides.
Close your eyes and help me say,
Our very quiet word today:
SHHHHHHHHHH!


(Source: The Big Book of Stories, songs and Sing-Alongs by Maddigan, Drennan and Thompson)

Song: “I’m Gonna Shake my Sillies Out!

I’m gonna shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
And wiggle my waggles away!

…Clap my crazies out…
…Jump my jiggles out…
…Dance my ditzies out…
…Stretch my stretchies out…
….Yawn my sleepies out… and sit down in my place!

 

(Source: “Shake My Sillies Out” by Raffi)

Time to Bounce! Tiny Little Baby
Tune: “Shortnin’ Bread”

Tiny little baby
Loves bouncin’ bouncin’
Tiny little baby loves bouncin’ so,

Tiny little baby
Loves bouncin’ bouncin’
Tiny little baby loves bouncin’ so,

Bounce to the left and
Bounce to the right,
Now hug that baby
Nice and tight!

(Source: http://klmpeace.wordpress.com/rhymes-for-baby-and-toddler-storytimes/#32)

Let’s Move!
My Thumbs Are Starting to Wiggle

(Tune: “The Bear Went Over the Mountain”)

My thumbs are starting to wiggle,
My thumbs are starting to wiggle,
My thumbs are starting to wiggle,
And now so are my hands!

… arms!
… shoulders!
etc.

My body is starting to wiggle,
My body is starting to wiggle,
My body is starting to wiggle,
Around and around and around!

(Source: Jbrary!  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAmsnpMQlpw)

Shaker Songs!

“When You Are One!”

When you are 1, 1, 1,
Tap on your thumb, thumb, thumb.
When you are 2, 2, 2,
Tap on your shoe, shoe, shoe.
When you are 3, 3, 3,
Tap on your knee, knee, knee.
When you are 4, 4, 4,
Tap on the floor, floor, floor.
When you are 5, 5, 5,
You do the jive, jive, jive!

(Source:  The Big Book of Stories, songs and Sing-Alongs by Maddigan, Drennan and Thompson)

“We Shake Our Eggs Together!”

We shake our eggs together,
We shake our eggs together,
We shake our eggs together,
Because it’s fun to do!

Shake ’em up HIGH!
Shake ’em down LOW!
Shake ’em in the MIDDLE!
Because it’s fun to do!

(Source:  Jbrary! http://www.pinterest.com/pin/344666177705420884/)

 

2 thoughts on “Itsy Bitsy Songs & Rhymes for August 2014

Leave a Reply

