Itsy Bitsy Songs & Rhymes about SUMMER!

Here are the songs and rhymes we will be using in the month of JULY!

Finger Rhyme: Here is My Garden

Here is my garden, (palm out flat)
I rake it with care,
(use other hand to rake the garden)
And then some flower seeds,
(plant seeds)
I’ll plant in there.
The sun will shine,
(shimmy hand over the garden hand)
And the rain will fall,
(make fingers rain on garden)
And up grows my garden,
(place opposite elbow on garden)
Straight and tall!
(open fingers to make a flower)

(Traditional)

Song: The Waves at the Beach
(Tune: “The Wheels on the Bus”)

The waves at the beach go up and down, up and down, up and down,
The waves at the beach go up and down, all through the day!

Crabs… crawl back and forth….
Lobsters…. go snap, snap, snap….
Clams… open and shut…
etc.

(Traditional)

Time to BOUNCE!

Trot, trot to Boston,
Trot, trot to Dover,
But when you get there,
Don’t fall over!

Trot, trot to Boston,
Trot, trot to Lin,
But when you get there,
Don’t fall in!

Trot, trot to Boston,
Trot, trot to Philly,
But when you get there,
Don’t be silly!

(Traditional)

Time to COUNT!

How many friends are here today?
Here to read? Here to play?
How many friends are here today?
Let’s all count them!

(Adapted from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=juV0BVLPfuM)

Song:  The Watermelon Song

Watermelon, watermelon,
Papaya, papaya!
Ba-na-na-na-nana, Ba-na-na-na-nana!
Fruit salad, fruit salad!

(Source https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10154096418475717&set=o.578542872196913&type=2&theater)

Scarf Time!

Bumble Bee Chant & Song:

Fuzzy, fuzzy bumble bee, bumble bee, bumble bee,
Fuzzy, fuzzy bumble bee, landing on my toes!

Shoo bee, don’t bother me,
Shoo bee, don’t bother me,
Shoo bee, don’t bother me,
I belong to somebody!

Icky Sticky Bubble Gum:

Icky, sticky, sticky, sticky bubble gum, bubble gum, bubble gum!
Icky, sticky, sticky, sticky bubble gum makes my hands stick to my_____!
So I pull ’em and I pull ’em and I pull ’em away!

(Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=juV0BVLPfuM)

 

 

6 thoughts on “Itsy Bitsy Songs & Rhymes about SUMMER!

  1. Anne, I can’t remember if I mentioned this here, but will make a note of it now. Just in case you notice, as an aside, I’m trying to make a conscious decision on cutting back for a while on how much time I spend on reading/commenting on blogs I love and follow, ’cause if I don’t, my own blogs will never be launched *sigh* I’m not disappearing…just fading for a bit with occasional apparitional appearances. I figure if I actually TELL everyone I’m doing this (that is, if you notice lol)—I actually WILL!

Leave a Reply

