Flannel Friday Roundup 4/4/14

My first time hosting… I am so excited! And what an exciting week!

Congratulations are in order to our very own Anne Clark, a Flannel Friday Founder and winner of the 2014 Frances H. Pletz Award for Excellence in Service to Youth Award. “The award is given annually to a Michigan library staff person who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of library service to youth, ages 0-18 throughout his or her career.” Phenomenal and well deserved!

And now for a little light housekeeping… if you have recently attempted to search Twitter looking for flannel board ideas and were disappointed to find only pictures of bored teens wearing flannel you are not alone. Apparently we’ve been sharing a hashtag. (Imagine the teens who were looking for friends in plaid who finding chicks and ducks and whatsits instead!)

As of today we have a new hashtag….

#flannelstorytime

Please feel free to start using it immediately!  (As soon my own personal bored teen clad in plaid gets home I will attempt to post the Roundup on Twitter. Lots of firsts!)

OK, on to the ROUNDUP!

What a wonderful mix of spring and summer and fun we have this week! I cannot wait to try all of these – and several books that I have not yet crossed paths with too, which is always an added bonus. Thank you for all of your wonderful and creative ideas, and for letting me host. I have learned so much from this community!

Play ball!

SPRING!

I think it is finally on the way, and we have some wonderful submissions celebrating its arrival!

First up is for those of you still stuck in winter… or just FROZEN!
blog Olaf
Check out Jane’s fabulous Yes I Want to Build A Snowman post over at Piper Loves the Library. My little guy is a huge Olaf fan and was thrilled to pieces to get to play with the attached free Disney Olaf printable this morning!

Looking for some absolutely adorable and really fluffy chicks? Tara at Storytime with Miss Tara and Friends shares her flanalized version of Ten Eggs in a Nest by Marilyn Sadler:
blog 10 eggs
Did I mention I think these are ADORABLE?!? – oh and they are chock full of STEAM – added bonus! I am hoping Miss Tara shares with us what she used to get these guys so fluffy so I can borrow this idea for a set of my own!

Speaking of adorable ideas I cannot wait to make… Sue at Library Village has posted her version of Matt Novak’s Too Many Bunnies:
blog bunnies
which had my kids and me giggling hysterically just thinking how fun this must be to share at Story Time!

Ready for Summer?!?

Nope, me neither, but some of us have been getting a head start on planning for Fizz, Boom, Read!

Linda of Notes from the Story Room has created a Shape Matching magnet board set:
blog shapes1
The genius of this set is that it begins simply and gets progressively more complex:
blogshapes2 blogshapes3Making it perfect for mixed aged groups, families, building on previous knowledge and possibilities for expanding the game to memory and problem solving activities!

Katie over at Storytime Katie offers us a truly yummy flannel with a thousand possibilities with Ice Cream Colors:
blogicecream
Complete with a cute rhyme and pattern, Katie’s delicious offering could work for so many themes – Fizz Boom Read of course, summer, colors, “I”, and of course Ice Cream! Yum!

Mice and Moose:

Jane from Piper Loves the Library was working into the wee hours and submitted a second awesome flannel – Maisy! Maisy! Maisy!
blog Maisy off we go!
I am a huge Maisy fan!  This set is based on Maisy Drives the Bus by Lucy Cousins. The pieces are gorgeous, and the character’s heads all pop off so they can fit in the bus!  Brilliant all around!

Kathryn at Fun With Friends at Storytime is missing her library home as her branch undergoes renovations. Her delightful Home Sweet Library Home post makes the best of the situation while reassuring her kids that all will be well and includes not one but TWO flannel boards and a home extension activity:
bloghome1

bloghome2

bloghome3
Yup, I am borrowing that awesome craft immediately! Thanks!

And now for the Moose you’ve been waiting for… Bridget of What is Bridget Reading brings us her version of Hickory Dickory Dock with a mouse AND a moose!
blogmousemooseToo much goofy fun – I can’t wait to share this with my groups!

More Super Fun!

Lisa from Thrive After Three has been on a roll with her super superhero series based on Ralph Cosentino’s books, and this week’s Wonder Woman share is, well, WONDERFUL!
wonder-womablogn
Thank you to Lisa for turning me on to these books – they are perfect for introducing superheros to younger kids and my son LOVES them almost as much as his big brother loves reading them to him! Cannot wait for my next superhero Story Time!

Monica from Ram Sam Storytime shares THREE flannels this Friday! First up a flanalized version of Peter McCarty’s T is for Terrible:
blogpaisleydino
I especially adore the paisley t-rex!  Next up a perfect way to use Lois Ehlert’s Eating the Alphabet with a younger crowd:
blogeatingalphabet
AND – as if those aren’t enough – a great way to create a totally new flannel activity from flannels you already have…. Orange, Yellow and Brown:
blogOrange, Yellow, Brown 003

On my own blog, itsybitsymom, I am sharing a FF Baseball Game – tons of fun (or Phun as we say in Philly) and a great way to start the season! Please check it out if you have a minute left after all of this week’s wonderment!  Thanks!
P1090987

Next week Lisa from Lisa’s Libraryland will be hosting!

Please look for more Flannel Friday Fabulousness on our Blog and Pinterest and Facebook and Twitter!

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Flannel Friday Roundup 4/4/14

Leave a Reply

