February – Colors!

Here are the songs and rhymes we are playing with this month!

Finger Rhyme: “My Heart”

I put my hands together, (put palms together, fingers up)
This is how I start,
I curve my fingers right around, (curl fingertips of each hand toward each other to form heart shape)
And I can make a HEART!
This is my heart,
It goes beat, beat (clap hands on the word “beat”)
It pumps the blood when I’m asleep (rest head on hands)
It pumps the blood when I jump up and down, (jump!)
It pumps the blood when I run around, (slap hands on knees)
It pumps the blood when I move my feet, (stomp feet)
It pumps the blood when I tip-toe to my seat! (Sh finger)

(Mash-up of two rhymes from  http://www.perpetualpreschool.com/valentine_songs.html and http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/valentines/songs.htm)

Song: “If You are Wearing Red”
Tune: “If You’re Happy and You Know It”

If you are wearing red,
Shake your head!
If you are wearing red,
Shake your head!
If you are wearing red,
Please shake your head,
If you are wearing red, shake your head!

If you are wearing blue, touch your shoe…
…yellow… shake like jello…
… pink… give a wink…
…green..bow to the queen…
…brown… jump up and down…
…purple … SHOUT HOORAY!
(The kids think this is funny – but no words rhyme with “purple” or “orange”!)

(Source:  http://kids.niehs.nih.gov/games/songs/childrens/ifyouwear.htm)

Bouncing Rhyme: “See My Pony”

See my pony, my jet black pony,
I ride him every day.
When I give him oats to eat,
Trotting, trotting go his feet,
See my pony, my jet black pony,
I ride him every day

(Traditional)

Egg Shaker Rhyme: “A-Shake”

A-shake shake shake,
A-shake shake shake,
A-shake, shake, shake, shake, STOP!
(repeat 2 more times)

If you have a blue egg, shake your egg, shake your egg, if you have a blue egg, shake your egg!
If you have a red egg, shake your egg… etc.
(Thank you to  Guerrilla Storytime for teaching me this super fun egg shaker rhyme:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IYCPe0T9k78&feature=share)

Egg Shaker Song: “Skidamarink”

Skidamarink-a-dink-a-dink,
Skidamarink-a-doo,
I love you!
Skidamarink-a-dink-a-dink,
Skidamarink-a-doo,
I love you!
I love you in the morning, and in the afternoon,
I love you in the evening, and underneath the moon,
Oh!
Skidamarink-a-dink-a-dink,
Skindamarink-a-doo,
I love you!

(Source:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vPzg7VLUsY)

Let’s Move: “Go Bananas”

Grow, grow, grow, grown an orange,
(repeat)
And peel, peel, peel, peel the orange,
(repeat)
And squeeze, squeeze, squeeze, squeeze the orange
(repeat)

Grow, grow, grow, grow the corn…
Husk…
Pop, pop, pop pop the corn!

Potato…. peel… mash….
Apple… peel…. slice…

Grow, grow, grow, the banana,
(repeat)
Peel, peel, peel the banana,
(repeat)
Mash, mash, mash the banana,
(repeat)
Split, split, split the banana,
(repeat)
AND GO BANANAS, go-go BANANAS!
(repeat!)

(Camp song – with many variations!  For one take see:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfhzSNW0NmE)

3 thoughts on “February – Colors!

  1. Pingback: Story Times Cancelled Today | itsybitsymom

Leave a Reply

