Itsy Bitsy Songs & Rhymes: Let’s MOVE!

Many grown-ups are making a New Year’s resolution to move more, so why not encourage the kids too!

Finger Rhyme: I Have 10 Fingers

I have 10 fingers,
And they belong to me,
I can make them do things,
Would you like to see?

I can shut them up tight,
Or open them up wide,
I can put them all together,
Or I can make them hide.

I can make them jump high,
I can make them jump low,
I can make them clap loud and fast,
Or I can clap them soft and slow.

Source:  The Big Book of Stories, Songs and Sing-Alongs by Beth Maddigan

Song: I’m Getting Dressed
(Tune: “Farmer in the Dell”)

I’m getting dressed myself,
I’m getting dressed myself,
Hey ho, I’m growing oh!
I’m getting dressed myself!

I’m pulling on my shirt….
I’m slipping on my socks….
I’m tying up my shoes….
I’m zipping up my coat….
etc.

Source: http://www.preschooleducation.com/sclothes.shtml

Time to Bounce!
This is the Way the Lady Rides

This is the way the lady rides,
Prim prim, prim prim, prim prim.

This is the way the gentleman rides,
Trim trim, trim trim, trim trim.

This the way the farmer rides,
Ga-lump, ga-lump, ga-lump.

And this is the way the cowboy rides,
Ba-dump, ba-dump, ba-dump.

Yee-haw!

Let’s Move! Shake My Sillies Out!

I’m gonna shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
And wiggle my waggles away!

I’m gonna jump my jitters out….
I’m gonna clap my crazies out…
I’m gonna dance my ditzies out….
I’m gonna stretch my stretchies out….
I’m gonna yawn my sleepies out and sit down in my seat!

Source: Shake My Sillies Out by Raffi
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e2TbrRz8pLo

Song: We’re Jumping Up and Down!
(Tune “The Farmer in the Dell”)

We’re jumping up and down,
We’re jumping up and down,
We’re getting lots of exercise,
We’re jumping up and down!

Let’s reach and touch the sky…
Let’s bend and touch out toes…
We’re kicking up so high…
We wiggle our whole body…

Source: http://www.nuttinbutpreschool.com/myself-and-i-preschool-theme/

Song: Ring Around the Rosie 

Ring around the rosie,
Pocket full of posies,
Ashes, ashes, we all fall down!

The sheep are in the meadow,
Eating butter cups,
Thunder, lightening, we all jump up!!

One thought on “Itsy Bitsy Songs & Rhymes: Let’s MOVE!

  1. Pingback: January Preview! | itsybitsymom

Leave a Reply

