Owls & Bats & Squirrels Oh My!

 

Opening Song

BOOK: Bats in the Library by Brian Lies

Bats in the Library

Cute book about bats who get to go to the library when the window is accidentally left open over night.  Kids thought bats going to Story Time was hillarious!

GAME CUBE!- check out the link to these fun songs we pick by rolling our Game Cube dice!

This week the Wiggleworms danced  to “Shake My Sillies Out”

BOOK: Nuts to You by Lois Ehlert

Nuts to You

Fun story with beautiful illustrations about a squirrel who gets into a house through a broken screen.  Shows many of the amazing things these creatures can do – like walk up and down brick walls!

SONG: “The Squirrel Song” (To the tune of “She’ll Be Coming Round the Mountain”)

(Kids pick up imaginary acorns on this verse)
I’ll be gathering all the acorns ’til they’re gone!
I’ll be gathering all the acorns ’til they’re gone!
I’ll be gathering all the acorns, I’ll be gathering all the acorns,
I’ll be gathering all the acorns ’til they’re gone!

(Kids hide acorns under carpet squares)
Then I’ll put them all inside my little home!
Then I’ll put them all inside my little home!
Then I’ll put them all inside, yes, I’ll put them all inside,
I will put them all inside my little home.

(Pretend to eat acorns on this verse)
Then I’ll eat the nuts all winter ’til they’re gone!
Then I’ll eat the nuts all winter ’til they’re gone!
Then I’ll eat the nuts all winter, yes I’ll eat the nuts all winter,
I will eat the nuts all winter ’til they’re gone!

(Clap!)
Then I’ll do it all again come next fall!
Yes, I’ll do it all again come next fall!
Yes, I’ll do it all again, yes I’ll do it all again,
Yes, I’ll do it all again come next fall!

(Source:  http://www.hcpl.net/cgi-bin/ebranch/story_time/theme.pl?id=450)

BOOK: Owl Babies by Martin Waddell

Owl Babies

This is one of my favorite new finds, even though it’s been around a long while!  The drawings are absolutely stunning – full of texture and emotion; and, the text has just enough repetition to be a huge hit with preschoolers.  Tells the story of three baby owls who wake up one night and find their Mom is missing.  The situation is one kids this age can relate to but there is just enough humor to keep it from getting scary.  We all love Bill, the little owl who just wants his Mommy.

As a follow up to this book we took turns acting out the story.  This was a HUGE hit with the kids and parents alike, so I’d like to give a big thank you to Maureen at http://strongstart.blogspot.com/2010/11/owl-babies-reenactment.html  for sharing this awesome idea!

P1090209

I didn’t have cool owl hats, so we used some paper plate and muffin cup owl masks along with some “Hello My Name Is…” badges.  The kids were so excited and did a great job following the directions and repeating their lines back to the audience!  So much fun we went through the whole story twice so almost everyone could have a turn!  We had more boys than girls, but the kids were thrilled to have a Daddy owl for one of the performances and “Sarah” became “Sam” for a round too! (And of course, they were better at remembering these changes than I was!)

SHUFFLE DANCE: Check out our dance list here!

The iPod chose Jim Gill’s Irreverent Anthem – tons of direction following and good goofy fun – even the grown ups couldn’t do it all!

CRAFT:  Origami Bats

P1090208
MATERIALS:

Black construction paper folded ahead of time to save time (see link below for folding directions)
White chalk
Googly eyes
Hole punch
String/ribbon

DIRECTIONS:

Directions for folding the paper are here:  http://www.layers-of-learning.com/origami-bats/

Kids added chalk decorations, mouths, etc. and googly eyes (these are a choking hazard – so I always give a warning and offer an alternative, which in this case is to draw eyes with chalk).

Next we punched holes in the bats and attached ribbon so we could make them “fly.”

Closing Rhyme & Song

How it Went:

What a fun group! Everyone did great listening and joining in!  Acting out the book was such a success I will definitely try it again!  It is also so true that material you love as a reader usually translates best to the kids – a good reminder was the success of the Owl Babies activity.

Leave a Reply

