FALL!

Itsy Bitsy Story Time – October 2013

This month our Itsy Bitsy Story Time songs and rhymes are all about FALL!

Finger Rhyme #1 – Five Little Pumpkins

5 little pumpkins sitting on a gate,
The first one said “Oh my it’s getting late!”
The second one said “There’s a chill in the air.”
The third one said “But we don’t care!”
The fourth one said “Let’s go and have some fun!”
The fifth one said “Let’s run and run and run!”
Then WHOOSH went the wind,
And out went the lights,
And the 5 little pumpkins rolled out of sight!

Song #1 – All the Leaves are Falling Down (Tune: London Bridge)

All the leaves are falling down,
Falling down, falling down.
All the leaves are falling down,
Falling down, it’s FALL!

Some are orange and some are brown,
Some are brown, some are brown.
Some are orange and some are brown,
All the leaves fall down!

Some are yellow and some are red,
Some are red, some are red.
Some are yellow and some are red,
Leaves fall on my head!

Take the rake and rake them up,
Rake them up, rake them up!
Take the rake and rake them up,
Rake them up, it’s FALL!

Make a pile and jump right in,
Jump right in, jump right in.
Make a pike and jump right in,
Jump right in, it’s FALL!

Source:  http://www.preschoolexpress.com/music_station07/fall-leaves-songs-rhymes-sep07.shtml

Time to Bounce!

Horsey, horsey, ride with me,
Across the land, across the sea,
Horsey, horsey, ride with me,
But do not let me FALL!

Rhyme #2 – Two Apples

Way up high in the apple tree,
Two little apples smiled at me.
I shook that tree as hard as I could,
Down came the apples,
MMMM! They were good!

 
Source:  The Big Book of Stories, Songs and Sing-Alongs by Beth Maddigan

Let’s Move! (Rhythm: “Teddy Bear, teddy bear….”

Scarecrow, scarecrow turn around,
Scarecrow, scarecrow jump up and down,
Scarecrow, scarecrow arms up high,
Scarecrow, scarecrow wink one eye,
Scarecrow, scarecrow bend your knees,
Scarecrow, scarecrow flap in the breeze,
Scarecrow, scarecrow climb into bed,
Scarecrow, scarecrow rest your head.

Adapted from The Big Book of Stories, Songs, and Sing-Alongs by Beth Maddigan

NEW – Peek-a-boo Rhyme!

I’m a very friendly ghost,
And I can scare you too,
I’ll cover my face with my hands,
And then say BOO to you!

Source:  http://www.bklynpubliclibrary.org/first-5-years/songs-rhymes/halloween-songs-rhymes-stories-0

Let’s Dance!  The Squirrel Song!
(Tune: She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain)

First verse kids “gather acorns” with their hands:

I’ll be gathering all the acorns ’till they’re gone!
I’ll be gathering all the acorns ’til they’re gone!
I’ll be gathering all the acorns, gathering all the acorns,
I’ll be gathering all the acorns ’till they’re gone!

Second verse kids pretend to put nuts in squirrel’s house:

I will put them all inside my little home….

Third verse kids pretend to eat acorns:

And I’ll eat the nuts all winter ’til they’re gone…

Fourth verse kids clap in rhythm:

Then I’ll do it all again come next fall…

Source: The Big Book of Stories, Songs, and Sing-Alongs by Beth Maddigan

2 thoughts on “FALL!

  1. Pingback: Pumpkins! | itsybitsymom

  2. Pingback: Itsy Bitsy Fall Crafts | itsybitsymom

Leave a Reply

