Babies & Big Kids!

Itsy Bitsy Story Time – August 2013

Hello! This month our theme will be BABIES & BIG KIDS! Here are the songs and rhymes we will be using with this theme! Enjoy!

Finger Rhyme #1 – Wink, Wink
Make one eye go wink, wink, wink,
Make two eyes go blink, blink, blink.
Make two fingers stand just so,
Then ten fingers all in a row!
Back and forth your head will rock
And your knees can knock, knock, knock.
Now stretch and make a yawn so wide,
and drop your hands down to your sides.
Close your eyes and help me say,
Our very quiet word today:
SHHHHHHHHHH!

(from The Big Book of Stories, songs and Sing-Alongs by Maddigan, Drennan and Thompson)

Song #1 – Where is baby? tune: Are you Sleeping?
Where is baby? Where is baby?
There s/he is! There s/he is!
I’m so glad to see you, I’m so glad to see you!
Peek-a-boo! Peek-a-boo!

(from The Big Book of Stories, songs and Sing-Alongs by Maddigan, Drennan and Thompson)

Bouncing Rhyme – Tiny Little Baby – tune: Shortnin’ Bread
Tiny little baby
Loves bouncin’ bouncin’
Tiny little baby loves bouncin’ so,

Tiny little baby
Loves bouncin’ bouncin’
Tiny little baby loves bouncin’ so,

Bounce to the left and
Bounce to the right,
Now hug that baby
Nice and tight!

(From http://klmpeace.wordpress.com/rhymes-for-baby-and-toddler-storytimes/#32)

Let’s Move! – I’m Gonna Shake my Sillies Out!
I’m gonna shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
And wiggle my waggles away!

…Clap my crazies out…
…Jump my jiggles out…
…Dance my ditzies out…
…Stretch my stretchies out…
….Yawn my sleepies out… and sit down in my place!
(from Shake My Sillies Out by Raffi)

Rhyme #2 – When you are One
When you are 1, 1, 1,
Tap on your thumb, thumb, thumb.
When you are 2, 2, 2,
Tap on your shoe, shoe, shoe.
When you are 3, 3, 3,
Tap on your knee, knee, knee.
When you are 4, 4, 4,
Tap on the floor, floor, floor.
When you are 5, 5, 5,
You do the jive, jive, jive!

(from The Big Book of Stories, songs and Sing-Alongs by Maddigan, Drennan and Thompson)

Song #2 – Off to School We Go! – tune: “The Farmer in the Dell”
Off to school we go,
Off to school we go,
It’s the first day of school,
Off to school we go.

Time to meet new friends,
Time to meet new friends,
It’s the first day of school,
Time to meet new friends.

Time to work and play,
Time to work and play,
It’s the first day of school,
Time to work and play!
(from: http://www.preschoolexpress.com/music-station08/1st-day-school-aug-sept08.shtml)

Leave a Reply

